Bourse aux équipiers

Annonce déposée le 02/06/2018 à 20h58

Panama to Polynésie

About the voyage
Passage from Panama to French Polynesia. The boat is currently at Bocas del Toro (Panama), In oct 2018 I will sail to Colon and expect the channel passage in dec 2018. Depending on conditions and time 1-4 weeks cruising the Perlas on the pacific side of Panama. Galapagos might be a stop-over. Expect 4-5 weeks passage time (without stop-over) from Panama to the Marquesas. Some weeks in the Marquesas and definitely a longer period in the Tuamotus (diving and exploring).
I did this voyage single-handed with S/Y SEVEN in 2015-16 and know what to expect. (see Instagram: distantvoyage).
I look for a sporty female companion for the voyage.

Crew roles
No sailing experience needed, but you should be able to adapt to the “camping life” on a boat. On a long passage it is mandatory to be able to read a lot. I expect a share on the daily duties (cooking, cleaning, watch) – once out in the pacific I don’t expect night watches (on my passage 2016 I saw 3 boats in 40 days on the horizon). I am a good cook myself and don’t expect you to cook every day. I don’t drink alcohol at all and I don’t accept drinking by anyone on the boat while under passage. No drugs. That was a lot of don’ts - now for the fun part. I like to dive and jump into the water whenever possible. New dive equipment and compressor is on the boat. I worked in the dive industry for quite some time and have 1000+ dives.
While at anchor (sorry, no marinas in the south pacific) I try to get on land every day for exploring and running. Bicycle are also on the boat for longer excursions. It would be nice, if you are sporty and can come along. I expect you to learn how to operate a dinghy so you can go alone to other boats/on land.
I don’t expect a “romance” and you can sleep in your own bed / room.
I did the voyage single-handed and that is a nightmare – not for the duties or work, but for the social part. It would be nice if you have studied something and a degree (I have a PhD in physics and taught for some time at UC Berkeley).
Whole food whenever possible (a BIG freezer is on the boat and helps a lot) – minimum of canned food. I don’t listen a lot to music but don’t mind if you do. If I listen to music its mainly Rock and classical music.
I mainly expect to make this passage fun and the stay in FP an adventure. And it is much more fun to do it with a companion.
For more information about me, the boat and prior voyages see Instagram: DISTANTVOYAGE (Sven Jakubith)

Embarquement : Voilier - 50ft CRUISER

Habilitation : Navigation hauturière

Poste(s) disponible(s) : Équipiers

Dates : du jeudi 25 octobre 2018 au jeudi 1er août 2019

Zone(s) géographique(s) : Océan Pacifique, Tour du monde

Référence de l'annonce : 23810

Personne à contacter :
sven Jakubith
Email : Envoyer un email